Skip to content
EzyHop

Nomad visas

Thailand DTV visa requirements by embassy: South and Southeast Asia

The DTV is filed online but judged by the Thai mission where you live. What New Delhi, Dhaka, Islamabad, Kathmandu, Manila and Ho Chi Minh City ask for as of October 2026: funds proof format, work evidence, fees, how to pay and processing times, plus the 31 August 2026 rule change.

By EzyHop teamPublished Last updated 11 min read

A tuk-tuk with a laptop and suitcase drives toward a tiered temple roof, on a dotted route from a stamped passport past three map pins.

The Destination Thailand Visa (DTV) is a five-year, multiple-entry visa for remote workers and freelancers, for people coming for listed activities such as Muay Thai, Thai cooking classes or medical treatment, and for their spouse and children under 20. The headline money rule is the same everywhere (evidence of at least 500,000 THB), but the bank paperwork, the fee, how you pay it and how long you wait depend on which Thai embassy or consulate handles your file.

This guide compares the missions in New Delhi, Dhaka, Islamabad, Kathmandu, Manila and Ho Chi Minh City, using only their own pages and notices as of October 2026. Where a mission's page is old or says nothing, the table says so.

The basics, and the rule change of 31 August 2026

The Ho Chi Minh City consulate's DTV page sets out what the visa gives you: five years of validity, a stay of up to 180 days, and one extension of up to 180 days from Thai Immigration. After that you leave and re-enter on the same visa while it is still valid. Dhaka's checklist puts the same limit per entry: 180 days, plus one extension of up to 180 days.

The workcation route covers digital nomads, remote workers, freelancers and "foreign talent." The activities route covers Muay Thai, cooking classes, sports training, medical treatment, seminars and music festivals.

On 28 August 2026 the Department of Consular Affairs announced two changes to the DTV document list, effective 31 August 2026 at 00:00 Thailand time:

  • Proof of permanent residence replaces the old "document indicating current location."
  • A certificate of criminal record clearance is added.

Applications submitted before 31 August 2026 continue under the previous requirements. As of October 2026, several mission checklists still use the old "current location" wording, including Dhaka's DTV page and Kathmandu's notice of 15 October 2026. Prepare for the August rule anyway: it comes from the ministry and applies to new applications.

Which mission decides your application

Everyone files at thaievisa.go.th, but you choose a mission in the portal, and that mission judges the file. The Kathmandu embassy's general visa page states the principle: apply at the Thai embassy or consulate-general in your country of residence, or at the designated one.

How that plays out in each country:

  • India. New Delhi's September 2026 list of common mistakes says visas are issued only to applicants who are physically in India for the whole e-Visa process, and that you file with the mission covering the state you are in when you apply. New Delhi covers Delhi, Punjab, Haryana, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh, Chandigarh and the northeastern states. Kolkata covers West Bengal, Bihar, Jharkhand, Odisha, Chhattisgarh and the Andaman and Nicobar Islands. Chennai covers Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Kerala, Telangana, Andhra Pradesh and Puducherry. Mumbai covers Maharashtra, Gujarat, Goa and Madhya Pradesh.
  • Philippines. The Manila embassy's e-Visa guidelines accept Filipino nationals and foreign nationals currently in the Philippines. Nationals of 30 listed countries, including Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka, must also hold a Philippine permanent resident visa (shown on the ACR I-Card). Without one, Manila advises applying at the Thai embassy at home or in your country of residence.
  • Vietnam. Ho Chi Minh City asks Vietnamese citizens for a valid Vietnamese ID card plus a Confirmation of Immigration Information. Foreigners must show a Temporary or Permanent Residence Card; a temporary residence declaration (NA17) or residence confirmation (CT07) is not accepted. The Vietnam row below uses the Ho Chi Minh City page. If you live in the north, check the Royal Thai Embassy in Hanoi as well.
  • Nepal. Kathmandu's October 2026 visa notice says applicants are generally expected to stay in Nepal while the e-Visa is processed. Leaving can mean an interview or extra checks, which slows the result.

South Asian passport holders living in the Gulf usually file where they hold residence. The Dubai consulate's DTV checklist, an older undated document from before the e-Visa switch, asks every applicant for a UAE residence visa valid for at least three more months.

Six missions side by side

Fees are in local currency because that is how each mission publishes them. All figures are as of October 2026, from the linked official pages; check them again before you pay.

MissionFunds proof, as writtenWork evidence (workcation)FeeProcessing time
New Delhi (also Kolkata, Chennai, Mumbai)At least 500,000 THB or 1,000,000 INR, e.g. bank statements or a sponsorship letter (checklist dated July 2024)Employment contract or certificate, or a portfolio30,000 INR from 27 April 2026 (fee notice)Not stated for e-Visa applications
DhakaAt least 1,750,000 taka kept in the account for six months straight; original statement plus bank solvency letter (DTV page, August 2024)Contract or certificate from an employer outside Thailand, or a portfolio45,000 taka from 1 September 2025 (fee notice), paid only after the embassy approves the applicationNot stated
IslamabadNo DTV checklist among the site's visa categoriesNot published130,000 PKR (fee table effective 15 July 2024)Not stated
KathmanduNo DTV page; the October 2026 notice asks for three months of bank statements, with the balance set by visa typeEmployer's letter given as an exampleNot listed; the fee table dates from October 20227 to 10 working days if complete
ManilaBank certificate or statements showing at least 500,000 THB or equivalent kept over the last three months; each dependent must meet the same minimumContract, or a certificate stating your remote scope of work and the company's industry, or a freelance portfolio19,250 PHP from 31 May 2026 (fee notice)About 10 to 15 working days
Ho Chi Minh CityNo less than 500,000 THB, e.g. bank statements or a sponsorship letterContract or certificate from an employer outside Thailand, or a portfolio340 in US dollars, debit or credit card only5 working days, not counting the day you submit

Two things the table can't show. Manila's January 2026 guidelines still print the old 18,000 PHP fee, which the May 2026 notice replaced. And the Dhaka and New Delhi checklists predate the August 2026 change, so add proof of permanent residence and a police certificate even though their lists don't mention them.

How each mission takes the fee

Getting the payment wrong is a quiet way to lose an application. As of October 2026:

  • Dhaka: wait for approval, then pay online through Commercial Bank of Ceylon or Eastern Bank, 09:00 to 12:00 on the embassy's working days. The amount must match the Payment Information Summary exactly, in a single payment, and you upload that summary to the portal (payment notice). Wrong amounts are rejected.
  • Kathmandu: online payment is not available. You deposit the fee at a Global IME Bank branch in the Kathmandu Valley, get a manager's check, and hand it in at the embassy in Maharajgunj between 09:30 and 11:30 on working days.
  • Ho Chi Minh City: debit or credit card only.

For New Delhi, Islamabad and Manila, follow the payment step the portal shows you; the pages linked above don't spell it out.

Funds proof: the format matters as much as the amount

The number gets the attention, but the paperwork is where files stall. Dhaka is the strictest on form. Its September 2025 warning says bank documents must be signed and issued by bank officials and that e-statements are not acceptable. Its DTV checklist also asks for six months of history, where Manila asks for three.

Before you visit your bank, ask for:

  • A statement covering the period your mission names (three or six months), in English or with a translation.
  • A balance or solvency certificate if your mission lists one. Dhaka asks for a solvency letter; Manila accepts a "recent bank certificate."
  • A signed and stamped original if you file in Dhaka.
  • If someone else is backing you: the sponsor's letter, a copy of the sponsor's passport and the sponsor's bank papers. Manila and Ho Chi Minh City both accept sponsorship.

Foreigners applying in Manila on a Philippine resident visa should show a local bank account, per the guidelines. Translations follow local rules too. Dhaka wants documents in Bangla translated into English and certified by a translator and a notary. Kathmandu wants documents in Nepali translated into English and legalized by Nepal's Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Ho Chi Minh City accepts Thai or English and recommends an official certified translation.

Work evidence for the workcation route

The four missions in the table that publish DTV requirements (New Delhi, Dhaka, Manila and Ho Chi Minh City) accept an employment contract, an employment certificate, or a professional portfolio if you freelance. Manila is the most specific: the certificate should describe your work while remote and the nature or industry of the company. Dhaka adds a line to take literally: the work must be "without intention to receive salary or income from Thai company or within Thailand."

Why applications stall or get refused

Only problems the missions themselves list:

ProblemWho flags itWhat to do
A middle name typed when the passport has noneNew Delhi, ManilaCopy the passport exactly. Both cancel mismatched applications, and Manila says without a refund
Photo off-specNew DelhiColor, plain white background, 630 x 810 pixels, face filling 80 to 85% of the frame
Wrong mission, or you left the country mid-processNew Delhi, KathmanduFile with the mission for where you are and stay there until the result
Payment does not match the Payment Information SummaryDhakaPay the exact amount in one payment within the bank window
Agency-made or doubtful documentsDhakaSubmit on the portal yourself; use hotel bookings confirmed by the hotel or a reputable platform; book medical appointments directly with the Thai hospital
Expired documents, unclear scans, too little money for the categoryKathmanduRescan, recheck dates, and apply at least a month ahead but not more than three months

Kathmandu also says Thai practice is not to disclose reasons for refusal and that fees are non-refundable. If a document is missing or wrong, the embassy emails you to fix it before processing resumes, but that does not cover errors in your personal details. Watch your inbox, spam folder included.

After approval: entry, extensions and the work line

A visa does not guarantee entry. New Delhi's checklist reminds applicants that the Immigration Bureau has sole discretion at the border. Once in, you have up to 180 days. For the extension, the Ho Chi Minh City page points to the Immigration Bureau at Government Center B, Chaengwattana Soi 7, Laksi, Bangkok, or to the bureau's online service at immigration.go.th.

The DTV does not make you employable in Thailand. Ho Chi Minh City's page says work is allowed only with a work permit, and that working without one can mean prosecution, a fine, prison or both. Keep your employer and clients outside Thailand.

Indian passport holders who want to look around before committing can use the 30-day visa exemption for tourism and short business trips, which New Delhi's visa page lists as effective from 15 September 2026 until further announcement.

The money you show is not your budget

The funds rule is about savings held over time, not about what a month in Bangkok or Chiang Mai costs. Two practical consequences follow. A large deposit made a few weeks before you apply will not meet Dhaka's "six months straight" or Manila's "maintained over the last 3 months" wording. And once you arrive, the rent deposit, a coworking pass and your onward flight come out of the same money, so budget your monthly spending separately from the proof.

Staying connected in Thailand on a DTV

The first weeks are when you need data most: flat viewings, maps, bank apps and messages with landlords. A data eSIM installed before you fly gets you online on landing, while your home SIM stays in the phone for bank codes and WhatsApp. Set the home line's data roaming to off; otherwise your home carrier's roaming rates apply.

Our Thailand plans from $3.99 connect to AIS, DTAC or TrueMove H, depending on the plan. Each card shows how long the plan lasts and whether you can top up from your account, which matters if your laptop runs on your phone's hotspot for work. A few plans route traffic through Hong Kong, and the card says so.

Long DTV stays often include a run to Penang, Kuala Lumpur or Singapore. The Singapore, Malaysia and Thailand plans cover all three on one eSIM, and the Southeast Asia plans go wider. Our plans are data only, so if a landlord or delivery app needs a Thai number, buy a local SIM from one of the carriers once you have your address sorted. Check your phone on the compatibility page first, and keep the iPhone or Android install guide open while you set it up.

What to do this week

  1. Confirm your mission: the country where you hold permanent residence and, in India, the state you will be in when you apply.
  2. Request your police certificate now. It is the newest document on the list, and its timing depends on your local police, not on the embassy.
  3. Ask your bank for the exact format your mission names, as a signed original if you file in Dhaka.
  4. Collect your contract, employment certificate or portfolio, in English or with a certified translation.
  5. Check how your mission takes the fee, file at thaievisa.go.th, and stay in the country until the result arrives.

Sources

Frequently asked questions

Can I apply for the DTV from Thailand or from a country I am only visiting?
As of October 2026, it is not a good idea. Since 31 August 2026 the DTV document list asks for proof of permanent residence, and New Delhi and Kathmandu expect you to stay in the country while the e-Visa is processed. Apply from the country where you live, before you travel.
Can I work for Thai clients on a DTV?
No. The workcation route is for an employer or clients outside Thailand. Dhaka's checklist describes it as work without intention to receive salary or income from a Thai company or within Thailand, and the Ho Chi Minh City consulate warns that working without a work permit can lead to prosecution.
How long must my passport be valid?
Manila, Kathmandu and New Delhi ask for at least six months. Dhaka's DTV checklist asks for 24 months of validity for the five-year visa, so renew early if you file there.
Does my spouse or child need a separate application?
Yes. A spouse or child under 20 applies as a dependent with proof of relationship, such as a marriage or birth certificate. Manila also asks for a copy of the main holder's passport and DTV, and for each dependant to show the same 500,000 THB minimum as the main applicant.
Is the visa fee refunded if I am refused?
No. Kathmandu, Manila and Ho Chi Minh City state that the fee is non-refundable, and Dhaka's payment notice says payments will not be refunded.

Tags

Your next stop

Get your eSIM before you fly: install it at home and you're online when you land.

from $3.99

See plans for Thailand
All posts
  • Nomad visas

    Digital nomad visas for Indian passport holders: where to apply

    Seven remote-work visas Indian passport holders can use as of October 2026, with where to file from India, the income bar and fee each government states, and the India-side steps: Passport Seva PCC, MEA apostille, income proof and the day counts for tax residency.

    · 11 min read

  • Nomad life in Spain

    Spain's digital nomad visa: requirements and how to apply

    Who qualifies for Spain's international telework visa, the 2026 income threshold for you and your family, the document list with apostille and translation notes, how consulates differ, and when filing from inside Spain is the better route. Checked against official sources, October 2026.

    · 14 min read

  • Living in Spain

    NIE vs TIE in Spain: what each one is and how to get it

    The NIE is your foreigner number, the TIE is the card for non-EU residents, and EU citizens get a green certificate instead. Which one you need (digital nomad visa holders included), the EX-15, EX-17 and EX-18 forms, the 790-012 fee, booking steps and what to bring.

    · 12 min read